Oracle databases have been in existence for quite a while now. To be precise, Oracle released their 9i (9.0.1) version about 2 years ago. Many companies are still using the 8i (8.1.x), 8 (8.0.x) and 7.x database versions. For the most part, everything that is available in a lower version will be available in a higher version as well.

dynamic data masking

There are a few minor exceptions, but the Oracle databases tend to be backwards compatible. When Oracle releases a new version, their documentation contains a list of all the features new to that version. So it is worthwhile for the Database Administrator to read this documentation to discover what is new in the dynamic data masking database.

To give you an idea of recent developments and modifications, consider this…Oracle 8i introduced many new features for the developer. When using 8i, you could run Java Application in the dynamic data, you had expanded tools to help with object-oriented development. In addition, Oracle 8i introduced some enhancements to support larger databases (Materialized Views, additions to partitioning). Oracle 9i introduced many new features to help the Database administrator such as the ability to change database configuration “on the fly”, enhanced availability and enhanced manageability.

The advantage of a higher version is that you have more features and better capabilities. You also stay current with the most recent supported versions. The major shortcoming of these new systems is that you have to convert your older databases to the latest versions. This can sometimes cause application changes as well.

The advantage of staying with the lower version is that you get to understand perfectly how it works and you don’t have to keep making changes. Another disadvantage is that you can’t use any of the latest and greatest features and that you may lose support.

List Of Available Oracle Database Versions

Generally, in list form, these are the available Oracle Database Version list arranged in order;

  1. Oracle 7: … –
  2. Oracle 8: 8.0.3 – 8.0.6
  3. Oracle 8i: –
  4. Oracle 9i (Release 1): –
  5. Oracle 9i (Release 2): –
  6. Oracle 10g (Release 1): –
  7. Oracle 10g (Release 2): –
  8. Oracle 11g (Release 1):

Read more on Dynamic data masking and Firewalls at ProtectmyDb

Similar Posts:

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>